Author: Sarah Granger

Where are the women in e-government, tech policy and politics?

The question has again been asked, where are the women leaders and innovators in e-government, digital diplomacy, online politics, tech policy and related?

Answer: we’re everywhere, from local government to global NGOs, although it’s not always easy for journalists and other researchers to find this information. I’ve twice undertaken the task of listing women and it looks like it’s that time again. This time, we want to crowd source our results beforehand to make sure we include as many women as possible.

In 2010, we published the “100+ Women in Government & Technology” list here at GovFresh and previously in 2008, I made a similar list at The Political Voices of Women, “Women Leading in Technology and Politics or Policy.” The area has only grown. Due to recent criticism of only one woman being included in TechCrunch’s list of “The 20 Most Innovative People in Democracy 2012” and backlash for the original Mother Jones list of “Men Who Stare at Votes” article including zero women (later updated and changed to include women in “Meet Obama’s Digital Gurus“), many of the people I interact with daily in this context – women and men – have argued that it’s time for another more comprehensive list.

In the comments section below, please enter names, affiliations and TwitterIDs, links to bios, etc. for any women you recommend to add to our updated list. As a special nod to Veterans Day, please include any women who are serving or have served in the military. Thank you!

Celebrating International Women’s Day with 100+ women in government technology

Secretary Clinton Launches the “100 Women Initiative: Empowering Women and Girls through International Exchanges"

Secretary Clinton Launches the “100 Women Initiative: Empowering Women and Girls through International Exchanges"

Today is International Women’s Day. Women’s organizations around the world will be celebrating and talking about all kinds of women’s issues, including our Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, who launched a bold new initiative. People might tweet about it and the fact that it’s the 100th anniversary. One of the many positive things that come from the day is acknowledgment of many achievements made by great women over time.

We have some amazing women doing great work in government innovation, and GovTwit’s Steve Lunceford reminded me that it’s been nearly a year since we highlighted these women on GovFresh, so this seemed like a good time to update the list. If you know of women who aren’t on it and should be, please note their names in the comments. And if you have Twitter IDs for them, even better. I’m maintaining a gov20women Twitter list where they can all be found and contacted easily.

Secretary Clinton may be the most prominent American voice on behalf of women around the world, but she is not the only one, and it’s important that we continue highlighting the work done by these women around the country and around the world every day to promote not only equality and human rights, but also innovation and openness in government.

Secretary Clinton’s International Women’s Day video message:

100+ Women in Government & Technology

I like making lists, so when GovFresh invited me to put together a list of women involved in government and technology efforts, I jumped at the chance. But although top ten lists are wildly popular, I’ve met so many incredible people working on Gov 2.0, open government, e-gov efforts that I thought the world needed a better glimpse of the breadth of involvement women have at all levels of government, in nonprofits, academia, conferences, media and the private sector. The hope is that this list will allow event organizers, members of the media, other list makers, etc. to easily build a diverse representation in their projects.

I published another list a few years back of top women in tech policy &/or politics on The Political Voices of Women blog, and there are a few cross-listed here, but the goal here was to take out the partisanship and just focus on ongoing efforts of women using technology to empower government and the public process. While I was researching, I did compile more names of women involved in Europe and Australia. That will have to be another list, but it was exciting to find even more amazing women, particularly through this post by Carrie Bishop.

Here’s the disclaimer: although I did ask around and use several different resources to build this list, I’m sure there are people I missed. So I welcome additions at any point. This is all about being inclusive and expansive. That’s another reason that the list includes Twitter info for as many of the women as I could collect, so it’s easy to find them. Many of those women are involved in multiple ways, so some have been cross-listed in 2 or 3 categories. Each group is alphabetized. If anyone is mis-categorized or does not wish to remain on the list, please drop me a line @sairy on Twitter or via email, sarah(at)sarahgranger(dot)com. Additions, please add in the comments.

Government staff, Gov 2.0/government tech public sector

  • Emma Antunes (NASA) – @eantunes
  • Beth Beck (NASA) – @bethbeck
  • Alissa Black (City/County of SF) – @alissa007
  • Sarah Bourne (Mass.gov) – @sarahebourne
  • Kirsten Burgard (Office of Information & Technology)
  • Michelle Chronister (GSA)
  • Mary Martha Churchman (DOT)
  • Casey Coleman (CIO GSA) – @caseycoleman
  • Cammie Croft (DOE) – @kookycam
  • Linda Cureton (CIO NASA) – @curetonl
  • Gretchen Curtis (NASA Nebula) – @gretcurtis
  • Mary Davie (GSA) – @marydavie
  • Katie Dowd (State Dept) – @katiewdowd
  • Amanda Eamich (USDA) – @amandare
  • Megan Eskey (NASA) – @meganesque
  • Kristy Fifelski (City of Reno) – @kristyfifelski
  • Rachel Flagg (Washington State) – @rachelflagg
  • Kate Geyer (Mass Open Data) – @parsnipsoup
  • Bev Godwin (GSA) – @BevUSA
  • Lisa Grant (FEDSIM, GSA)
  • Suzanne Hall (Western Hemisphere Affairs Bureau, State) – @suzkph
  • Barbara Haven (California Dept. of Technology Services) – @bhaven
  • Evonne Heyning (NOAA) – @amoration
  • Virginia Hill (NIH)- @GinnyHill
  • Elizabeth Hochberg (GSA)
  • Jeanne Holm (NASA JPL)
  • Chris Johnson (NASA – US Space & Rocket Center)
  • Melissa Jordan (SF Bay Area Rapid Transit)
  • Sarah Kaufman (NY Convergence, Metropolitan Transit Authority)
  • Cara Keithley (Ohio Dept. of Commerce) – @carakeithley
  • Caitlin Klevorick (State Dept) – @caitlinbk
  • Gwynne Kostin – @gwynnek
  • Carolyn Lawson (State of CA Office of CIO)
  • Randi Levin (City of Los Angeles)
  • Carmen Medina (CIA)
  • Beth Noveck (White House Deputy CIO)
  • Hope O’Keefe (Library of Congress) – @lentigogirl
  • Julia Rosen (HHS)
  • Tracy Russo (DOJ) – @tracyrusso
  • Katelyn Sabochik (White House; formerly DOI)
  • Amanda Scott (US Trade Representative)
  • Sonal Shah (White House Office of Social Innovation & Civic Participation)
  • Katie Stanton (State Dept) – @kateatstate
  • Teri Takai (DoD; formerly CA CIO)
  • Haley Van Dyke (FCC)
  • Merici Vinton (Serve.gov) – @merici
  • Michelle Viotti (NASA JPL)
  • Stacey Walker – @staceywalker
  • Jess Weiss – @jessweiss
  • Veronica Wendt (US Army) – @v_vern
  • Lovisa Williams (State Dept) – @lovisatalk

Elected Officials involved with Gov 2.0 efforts

  • Debra Bowen (Secretary of State, California) – @dbowen
  • Pam Broviak (City of Geneva, Illinois) – @pbroviak
  • Sally Lieber (former State Assembly Member, California) – @sallylieber
  • Claire McCaskill (US Senate, from Missouri) – @clairecmc
  • Jill Miller Zimon (City Council, Ohio) – @jillmz

Open government Policy/advocacy, nonprofit sector, academic researchers

  • Kate Bladow (Pro Bono Net)
  • Heather Blanchard (Crisis Commons) – @poplifegirl
  • Danah Boyd (Berkman Center) – @zephoria
  • Judy Brewer (W3C)
  • Deborah Bryant (OSU Open Source Lab) – @debbryant
  • Danese Cooper (Wikimedia Foundation, OSI)
  • Jessy Cowan-Sharp (OpenGov Tracker/Sunlight) – @jessykate
  • Kety Esquivel – @ketyE
  • Judith Freeman (New Organizing Institute)
  • Julie Germany (George Washington School of Public Management) – @julieg
  • Kathy Gill (University of Washington) – @kegill
  • Abby Goldberg (Digital Democracy) – @digiabby
  • Sarah Granger (USACM) – @sairy
  • Leslie Harris (Center for Democracy & Technology)
  • Bryna Helfer (National Academy of Public Administration)
  • Mary Hodder (UC Berkeley) – @maryhodder
  • Emily Jacobi (Digital Democracy) – @digidem
  • Cara Keithley (Franklin University) – @carakeithley
  • Lorelei Kelly (New Strategic Security Initiative)
  • Tina Lee (Stanford) – @mstinalee
  • Elizabeth Losh (UC Irvine)
  • Ellen Miller (Sunlight Foundation) – @ellnmllr
  • Jen Pahlka (Code for America) – @pahlkadot
  • Stormy Peters (GNOME Foundation) – @storming
  • Megan Rhyne (Virginia Coalition for Open Government) – @opengovva
  • Paulette Robinson (National Defense University)
  • Denice Ross (Greater New Orleans Community Data Center)
  • Gabriela Schneider (Sunlight Foundation) – @stereogab
  • Sarah Swensson (Orange County Transportation Authority) – @RailSafeSarah
  • Nancy Watzman (Sunlight Foundation) – @nwatzman
  • Veronica Wendt (NDU) – @v_vern
  • Heather West – @heatherwest

Writers, bloggers, other media, government & tech conference organizers

Gov 2.0/government tech, consultants in the private sector